Did you know that about EIGHTY FIVE PERCENT of brain development happens BEFORE AGE FIVE?!?!! (Source) Early-childhood educators might not be first and foremost in an adult’s memory, but their very important job is to make every single experience in a child’s young life counts. Every moment of every day forms connections in the brain and lays the foundation for future learning.

Check out this great article from Harvard’s Center for the Developing Child to read more about the importance of early childhood experiences.

It’s been a long, winding journey that led to me becoming an early-childhood music teacher. My initial goal was to be the high school band director that everyone remembered and loved because (I thought) “That’s where the music *really* happens.” After college, I was hired for a teaching position with an early-childhood program, so I did some EC-specific coursework to prepare myself. AND IT BLEW MY MIND.  Even though the babies I teach might not remember being in my music classes, I know that I’m giving these children the gift of musical development when it counts the most!IMG_7370.JPG

Leave a Reply

