I’m a small business owner, and I spend much of my time and resources giving people concrete reasons why they should join my classes.  “Music is good for brain development!” (It is.)  “Music learning supports reading and math skills!” (It does.)  “Movement songs encourage kids to move across the midline!'” (Yep.)  I find articles, videos, and resources touting the benefits of music education in early childhood to share on social media, hoping to gain interest from parents who want to give their child a good start in life.

There are MANY choices for children’s activities, especially in my thriving metropolitan area.  I made the rounds through (way too) many of them when my son was a baby.  Most have sound educational research behind their curricula, and we both had a good time participating in them.

But what about “The Art Part?” as one of my professors, John Feierabend calls it.  There is no standardized test that can measure goosebumps from a haunting melody, or the thrill of energy in group of people who are singing and playing together.

When I first experienced a Music Together class, I finally felt that ‘under the surface’ feeling that was missing in other activities.  Music from different cultures, music that can take you through many different emotions.  REAL music that wasn’t written in order to teach math facts or the names of the states, or ten bajillion different lyrics to the tune of”The Wheels on the Bus.” Music that was created because people wanted to make something beautiful.

“The Goosebump Effect” probably won’t make the front page of a Harvard research journal, but that is the REAL reason I do what I do.  It is so easy to find one-liner clickbait articles about how music is good for brain, learning, development, yada yada,.  It’s a lot harder to convey in a sponsored Facebook Post how a 45-minute, weekly music class can allow you to create connections with others and experience humanity.

While providing opportunities for multi-sensory exploration, stimulating your child’s fine and gross motor development, and improving their language acquisition skills.  😉MT-ClassroomPhoto-01-web

 

Leave a Reply

